N.D. Hopkins Scholarship

N.D. Hopkins Scholarship Fund

An authentic mentor for the Texas housing industry    

N.D. Hopkins' service to the association spanned more than 40 years and his accomplishments were numerous.  He was a true building industry role model for the Dallas Builders Association, a distinguished realtor and builder in his community and a National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) and Texas Association of Builders (TAB) Life Director.  In 2011, N.D. received the distinguished Ted Schlossman Lifetime Achievement Award for his selfless commitment to the industry.

While he enjoyed the networking and social aspects of the association, government relations was his real passion.  In his community, he worked on the unified development code that became a model for other suburban cities.

He stayed abreast of the political arena from his local planning commission to the nation’s Capitol.  Over the length of his career he knew not just a politician or two, but nurtured and maintained relationships with generations of elected officials and their families.  These relationships have helped the association navigate the legislative waters on many occasions.  He was also active in his local Chamber of Commerce, Merchant’s Association, and the Grand Prairie Downtown Improvement Committee.

In 1992, N.D. won the prestigious Hugh Prather Trophy from the Dallas Builders Association.  This award recognized him for contributions that he made to the betterment of his community including food collection for the needy and elderly, relocation services for oil spill victims and downtown urban renewal contributions.

N.D. had a passion for the building industry, his business and his community, and invested in it with his time and his heart. He is a true role model. Help us to continue his legacy by awarding scholarships to the future of our industry and community.

Scholarships will be awarded to deserving individuals by Dallas Builders Association members. For additional information, contact Mike Mishler or Tommy Ford. 

Texas Builders Foundation donations are non-refundable.  If a credit card is charged in error, a full refund will be given.  Your transaction is not complete until you click on submit and receive transaction confirmation. Be sure to scroll to the bottom of each page to "submit" until you see your confirmation information.


Board of Trustees

  • Chairman, Steve Sorrells, Waco
  • Vice Chairman, David Miller, Lubbock
  • Daniel Alford, Plano
  • Alan Amos, Longview
  • Michael Biggerstaff, San Angelo
  • Steve Bolt, Lufkin
  • Honorable Drew Darby, San Angelo
  • Chad Decker, San Angelo
  • Steve DeVoe, San Carlos, CA
  • Tommy Ford, Dallas
  • Tim Jackson, Fairview
  • Boyd Johnston, Amarillo
  • Barry Kahn, Houston
  • Justin MacDonald, Kerrville
  • Jana McAllister, Dallas
  • Mike Mishler, Rockwall
  • M. Scott Norman, Jr., Austin
  • Matthew Reibenstein, Conroe
  • James Rodriguez, Fort Worth
  • Ron Rohrbacher, Houston

The Texas Builders Foundation is organized exclusively as a private charitable foundation within the meaning of Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. All contributions to the foundation are tax deductible.

MAKE A CONTRIBUTION Scholarship Information